Summary of the TNI NELAP Board Meeting August 12, 2009

1. Roll call

The NELAP Board met at 12:00 PM CST on August 12, 2009, at the Environmental Measurement Symposium in San Antonio, TX. Dan Hickman chaired the meeting. Those members in attendance are listed in Attachment 1. In addition to those indicated, Cathy Westerman from Virginia DCLS and Susan Wyatt from the MN DoH joined the call.

2. Chair Election

Dan Hickman announced at the 8-3-09 meeting that he was retiring on September 30. He requested nominations for a new chair. Carl Kircher moved that Aaren Alger be elected chair and Steve Stubbs vice chair by acclamation. Louis Wales seconded. All members present voted in favor. The new terms will start October 1, 2009.

Brian Boling will replace Dan as the OR representative to the NELAP Board.

3. Standards Adoption

Dan requested discussion on standards adoption. He stated that he did not want to open the vote until members had a chance to discuss all the issues that had come up at the meeting. Dan also explained that a veto vote could not be cast unless state statute expressly prohibited the requirement to be adopted. The fact that a requirement was hard to do was not cause for veto.

Several states had concerns about the status of experimental PTs. There seemed to be some confusion about whether or not the PT Board intended to continue with experimental PTs. Carl Kircher explained that the PT Board plans to conduct a systematic re-evaluation of the current experimental PT tables and make a decision whether to move the analyte to the regular FoPT tables or to drop it. Several members indicated it would be a good idea to have a statement of intent from the PT Board. This was not a veto issue for any member present.

With regard to the PT reporting limits issue and conflict with SDWA primacy requirements (V3 10.3.1), it was suggested that this issue could be resolved by adopting the standard and then immediately filing a standard interpretation request to clarify that this section did not supersede primacy requirements.

There will also need to be another meeting with ANSI and ASTM to confirm that the checklists and deficiency letters can contain the ISO version of the standards as long as the lab has a legal copy of the TNI standard.

Dan requested a show of hands as to which ABs could adopt the standards today. All present indicated that they were ready to adopt the new standards. Dan will plan to open the vote at the next meeting.

8. Next meeting

The NELAP Board will meet Monday, August 24, 2009 at 12:30 CST. Agenda items will include:

Review and approval of minutes Vote on new TNI standards Update on renewals QAO report

Attachment 1

STATE	Representative	Present
CA	George Kulasingam	No
	T: (510) 620-3155	
	F: (510) 620-3165	
	E: gkulasin@dhs.ca.gov	
	Alternate: Jane Jensen	
	jjensen@dhs.ca.gov	
FL	Stephen Arms	
	T: (904) 791-1502	
	F: (904) 791-1591	
	E: steve_arms@doh.state.fl.us	
	Alternate: Carl Kircher	Yes
	carl <u>kircher@doh.state.fl.us</u>	
IL	Scott Siders	No
	T: (217) 785-5163	
	F: (217) 524-6169	
	E: scott.siders@illinois.gov	
	Alternate: TBA	
KS	Dennis L. Dobson	Yes
	785-291-3162	
	ddobson@kdhe.state.ks.us	
	F: (785) 296-1638	
	Alternate: Michelle Probasco	
	mprobasco@kdheks.gov	
LA	Paul Bergeron	Yes
DEQ	T: 225-219-3247	
	F: 225-219-3310	
	E: Paul.Bergeron@la.gov	
	Altérnate: Cindy Gagnon	
	E: Cindy.Gagnon@la.gov	
LA	Louis Wales	Yes
DHH	T: (225) 342-8491	
	F: (225) 342-7494	
	E: lwales@dhh.la.gov	

	Alternate: Ginger Hutto ghutto@dhh.la.gov	
NH	Bill Hall T: (603) 271-2998 F: (603) 271-5171 E: whall@des.state.nh.us	No
	Alternate: Jeanne Chwasciak jchwasciak@des.state.nh.us	
NJ	Joe Aiello T: (609) 633-3840 F: (609) 777-1774 joseph.aiello@dep.state.nj.us	No
	Alternate : TBD	
NY	Stephanie Ostrowski T: (518) 485-5570 F: (518) 485-5568	
	Alternate: Dan Dickinson dmd15@health.state.ny.us	Yes
OR	Dan Hickman T: (503) 229-5983 F: (503) 229-6924 E: hickman.dan@deq.state.or.us	Yes
	Alternate: Raeann Haynes haynes.raeann@deq.state.or.us	
PA	Aaren Alger T: (717) 346-8212 F: (717) 346-8590 E: aaalger@state.pa.us	Yes
	Alternate: Bethany Piper bpiper@state.pa.us	
ТХ	Stephen Stubbs T: (512) 239-3343 F: (512) 239-4760 E: <u>sstubbs@tceq.state.tx.us</u>	Yes

	Alternate: Steve Gibson	
	jgibson@tceq.state.tx.us	
UT	David Mendenhall	No
	T: (801) 584-8470	
	F: (801) 584-8501	
	E: davidmendenhall@utah.gov	
	Alternate: Kristin Brown	
	kristinbrown@utah.gov	
	Program Administrator:	Yes
	Carol Batterton	
	T: 830-990-1029 or 512-924-2102	
	E: carbat@beecreek.net	
	Evaluation Coordinator:	No
	Lynn Bradley	
	T: 202-565-2575	
	E: Bradley.lynn@epa.gov	
	Quality Assurance Officer	No
	Paul Ellingson	
	T: 801-201-8166	
	E: altasnow@gmail.com	